Prof Chung-Yee LEE, Director of OIR
PhD, Yale University, 1984
Phone: (852) 2358-6107
E-mail: cylee@ust.hk
Office: Room 6576A
Prof. Chung-Yee Lee is the Director of the Office of Institutional Research (OIR), Senior Advisor to Vice-President for Research and Graduate Studies, and Visiting Professor at Department of Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management (IELM). He served as Department Head of IELM for seven years (2001- 2008). He was also the holder of the Cheong Ying Chan Professorship in Engineering (from January 2013 to June 2017). He is a Fellow of the Institute of Industrial Engineers in U.S. and also a Fellow of Hong Kong Academy of Engineering Sciences. Before joining HKUST in 2001, he was Rockwell Chair Professor in the Department of Industrial Engineering at Texas A&M University. He worked as a plant manager and also had several years consulting experience in Taiwan. In past thirty years he has engaged in more than forty research projects sponsored by NSF, RGC, ITF, IBM, Motorola, AT&T Paradyne, Harris Semiconductor, Northern Telecom, Martin Marietta, Hactl, HIT, Philips Medical, etc.
His research areas are logistics and supply chain management, scheduling and inventory management with a current focus on ocean transport logistics and e-commerce logistics. He has published more than 160 papers in refereed journals. He received a BS degree in Electronic Engineering (1972) and a MS degree in Management Sciences (1976) both from National Chiao-Tung University in Taiwan. He also received an MS degree in Industrial Engineering from Northwestern University (1980) and PhD degree in Operations Research from Yale University (1984).
General administration
Ms. Fanny Fan, Clerk, 3469 2535, fannyfan@ust.hk
Institutional Performance Evaluation
Ms. Natalie Chang, Head, 2358 5958, nataliechang@ust.hk
Mr. Tony Mak, Data Analyst, 3469 2559, tony.mak@ust.hk
Ms. Daisy Ngan, Assistant Manager, 2358 6920, daisyngan@ust.hk
Ms. Samantha So, Assistant Manager, 2358 6069, samanthaso@ust.hk
Ms. Ida Wong, Part-time Consultant, 3469 2025, oiridawong@ust.hk
Student Evaluation and Assessment
Dr. Pakey Chik, Head, 2358 8925, pakey.chik@ust.hk
Miss Elaine Cheng, Assistant Manager, 3469 2546, elaine.cheng@ust.hk
Mr. Kin Ming Fok, Assistant Manager, 3469 2029, ming.fok@ust.hk
Mr. Daniel Fung, Assistant Manager, 3469 2028, danielfung@ust.hk
Dr. Dawn Lo, Assistant Manager, 3469 2560, dawnlo@ust.hk
Dr. Annie Ng, Assistant Manager, 2358 6008, anniewyng@ust.hk
Mr. Horry Pong, Assistant Manager, 3469 2030, horry.pong@ust.hk
Ms. Vinee Kapoor, Statistical Officer, 2358 6813, vinee.kapoor@ust.hk